Effective May 27, 2020 at midnight Japan time, the Japanese government announced that it is banning entry of foreigners who have visited India, Argentina, South Africa or eight other countries for the past 14 days prior to arriving in Japan.  On May 22, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs had placed a Level 3 travel warning

On May 25, 2020, the Japanese government announced that it is lifting the state of emergency for all of Japan.  Tokyo, Saitama, Chiba, Kanagawa and Hokkaido had still been under a state of emergency.  The Japanese government will continue to monitor the state of COVID-19 in each prefecture every three weeks.

While the national government

On May 21, 2020, the Japanese government announced that it is lifting the state of emergency in Osaka, Kyoto and Hyogo.  The largely voluntary measures under the state of emergency will remain in place with respect to Tokyo and its surrounding prefectures (Saitama, Chiba, Kanagawa), as well as Hokkaido.   The state of emergency with respect

As the world continues to grapple with the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, employers are increasingly facing uncertainty over employment-related questions. Mayer Brown partners Marcia Goodman and Yoshihide Ito spoke in a webinar presentation sponsored by the TOP Group focusing on HR legal and practical issues arising from COVID-19.

Access the event information and presentation

On May 14, 2020, the Japanese government announced that it has lifted the state of emergency for 39 prefectures, including Aichi, Fukuoka and Ibaraki. Although the largely voluntary restrictive measures under the state of emergency have been lifted with respect to these 39 prefectures, the Japanese government requests that people within these prefectures try to

The Japanese government announced that it is extending the state of emergency for all of Japan through May 31, 2020.  The state of emergency was initially announced on April 7 for Tokyo and six prefectures but was the expanded to all prefectures on April 16.  The Japanese government may extend the state of emergency further depending on the spread of COVID-19 within the country.  The state of emergency may be lifted with respect to certain prefectures prior to May 31 depending on the spread of infections within those prefectures.

Continue Reading Japan Extends State of Emergency Through May 31

The Japanese government announced that it is extending the entry restrictions into Japan, which we discussed in detail in our prior blog post , through the end of May. This extension applies to entry restrictions placed on all countries globally, including the entry ban on foreigners who have visited the United States, Canada, China or

With infections rising in various parts of the country and the annual extended holiday break coming up, the Japanese government announced that it will be expanding the declaration of emergency, which was first in effect on April 8 for seven prefectures (including Tokyo and its surrounding prefectures), to now all of Japan. The declaration of emergency will be effective until May 6 for all prefectures but may be extended at the discretion of the Japanese government depending on how the infection spreads.

Continue Reading Japan Expands the State of Emergency to All Prefectures

Effective April 8, 2020 at midnight Japan time, the Japanese government declared a state of emergency specifically designated for Tokyo, Osaka, Hyogo, Fukuoka, as well as the three prefectures surrounding Tokyo (Kanagawa, Saitama and Chiba) initially until May 6. The declaration was made under a special measures law, which will provide each prefectural governor the legal authority to request or demand restrictions on the use of various establishments in their respective prefectures,* such as schools, nurseries, movie theaters, exhibition halls, hotels, museums, art galleries and retail stores. Certain establishments are expected to be exempt, such as supermarkets (food and hygienic products only), drugstores, gasoline stands. Railroads, roads and essential utilities are also expected to continue operations (although the operators of specific train lines and essential utilities may adjust their operations as they deem appropriate).

Continue Reading Japan Declares a State of Emergency in Tokyo, Osaka and Five Other Prefectures

Effective April 3 midnight Japan time, the Japanese government will implement a further ban on the entry of all foreigners that include the United States, Canada, all regions of China and all regions of South Korea. This new entry ban is in addition to the 24 countries bringing the total number of subject countries to 73.  This new entry ban also applies to foreigners who have been in any of the subject countries in the past 14 days. Entry discretion reportedly may be given to foreign citizen spouses or dependents of Japanese citizens and other special resident categories. For a list of the countries subject to the entry ban and restrictions, please visit: https://www.japan.travel/en/coronavirus/.

Continue Reading Japan Announces Additional Entry Bans, Including the United States, Canada as Well as All Regions of China and South Korea